Too Sensitive? Too_______? Fill in the blank.

I was accused of being “too chipper” when asked how my day was yesterday, which made me laugh at first, but then I paused and considered why someone would take issue with me being joyful? I reflected on the first half of my life; my dysfunctional childhood and marriage where criticism ran rampant and I was always “too sensitive,” “too loud,” “too this,” or “too that.” For too long, I internalized other peoples’ condemnations which had me convinced I was inadequate and somehow flawed. The point of this disclosure is to share what I know to be true; feelings and reactions are genuine, learned through exposure to a highly critical environment, and we should not allow others to discount them. Even the good ones. I am chipper, most of the time. And I claim it.

With that said, we should also consider the person who is being critical. Often, critical individuals struggle with their own inadequacies and choose to try and make themselves feel better by criticizing others. In other words, outwardly manifesting their own feelings of unworthiness.

Who in your life lifts you up? Who is often critical? There are so many loving and supportive people in the world, surround yourself with them.

10685532_731580973579708_2842710695638831661_n

One thought on “Too Sensitive? Too_______? Fill in the blank.

Leave a Reply

