On Becoming an Adult Orphan

I sit sipping my morning coffee feeling unmoored from the loss of my mother. I am now forced to contemplate my life without a mother, without a father. I close my eyes and imagine myself as a young child whose balloon has escaped my tenuous grasp. I begin to weep as I look down at my unfurled hand, the same hand that held my mother’s just one short week ago as we laughed as if we had all the time in the world to share. I feel a penetrating void slowly burden every inch of my body. My eyes look skyward and trail the balloon as it floats aimlessly. Now what? No one is left who intimately remembers the day of my birth, no one who loves me unconditionally and imperfectly, as only a parent is able to, and no one who remembers my fears, silliness, challenges, and triumphs quite like a mother and father. I capture my last glimpse of the balloon as it bumps between tree branches and temporarily gets stuck as it meanders on its journey. As quickly as it gets stuck, the balloon breaks free and I watch it float out of sight. I understand. My life is forever altered, and nothing will be as it was. Goodbye sweet Mother

3 thoughts on “On Becoming an Adult Orphan

  1. Eileen, that is beautiful. You put into words what I have been feeling since I lost my mom. I am so sorry for this terrible loss……………….I know I can’t replace the special love of a parent but I will do my best to make sure you know that you are truly loved. ….a different kind of love perhaps but unconditional…… Cathy

  2. Beautifully expressed…you are a writer. I know what you mean about the void. I miss my mother every day and you’re right…life is forever altered. I am with you in spirit at this sad time.

Leave a Reply

