Urban Nature…?

Urban Nature?

So tutorial 4 in my photography masterclass book had me examining lenses (quality and lack thereof), methods of focusing, and zoom and perspective.  Not the most in depth or informative tutorial, but I finished it nonetheless.  My assignment was to capture urban nature, see initial pictures attached.

With that being said, my foray into photographing urban nature actually found me in the back woods of Pinnacle, NC.  Okay truth…so we passed the city limits with no intent on braking and headed directly to an historic farm called Horne Creek.  My partner in crime and I ignored the bleak and nippy afternoon air and explored  the old farmhouse, made friends with a donkey and several of his pasture mates and enjoyed the beauty of the surrounding landscape.  I must mention that I am quite lucky that my partner in crime has the patience of a saint (I tend to obsess over subjects I am photographing) and never complains when we are driving and I shout to STOP!, and TURN AROUND! so I can capture an interesting scene we passed.  Thinking about this has me contemplating on the intensity in which I disappear behind the camera and I am reminded of the meditative aspect of my hobby.  Needless to say, the day was rejuvenating and the pictures in my previous post attest to the fun we had.

My research for the week revolved around art and morality, text and photo’s, and   joining the Nikon forum (Nikonites).

A though provoking essay on art and morality on this site:

http://infidels.org/library/historical/robert_ingersoll/art_and_morality.html

Likewise, I found some information to ponder when considering adding text to photographs from the Museum of Contemporary Photography website:

“Placing words and images in the same perceptual space is not as easy as it looks. The artist has to keep track of four phenomena, not just the apparent two. First, the words have accepted, coded meanings and contexts that affect what we see in the adjacent images. Second, the words invoke mental images that might also conflict with what we see. Third, images have meanings and contexts that may alter our engagement with the adjacent words. Fourth, images can call up words in the mind of the viewer. The coordination of image/word/word/image is not easy, but the more difficult it is, the more possibilities present themselves for qualifying or clarifying the larger world.”

http://archive.mocp.org/exhibitions/2004/02/conversations_t.php

MOCP led me to photographer Lorna Simpson who seemed to encapsulate text and photo quite intriguingly:

simpson1

http://lsimpsonstudio.com/photographicworks01.html

More and more to consider as I move along week to week.

Comments and feedback are always welcome. ‘Til next week then…

Leave a Reply

