Photography and Narrative

still5 copy still4 copy still3 still2As a photographer I hope to communicate something of value through the images I capture.  In essence, bear my soul through pictures in a way that might “move” the viewer; creating a connection by sharing my perceptions via photos. I feel the more we share our perceptions, the better chance we have at connecting as a human race.  This can open us up to differences and help us become more empathetic human beings.  It is easy to slip into an “I, me, mine” state of mind and forget the bigger picture. With that being said, my research for this week centered on photography and narrative.  I came across a site that had some interesting ideas on narrative as well as some questions I need to ask myself while moving towards my final project.

http://www.david-campbell.org/2010/11/18/photography-and-narrative/

Campbell explains the familiar process of narrative- exposition, conflict, climax, and resolution as well as give alternate ways of accomplishing this visually.  As I organize my thoughts on my final project, I have been quite adamant about not using the typical domestic violence image of a battered woman’s face.  I rather use images that conceptualize the story in a unique way.  Campbell questions “whether portraits cut us off from context and individualize what might be regarded as a collective or social issue.”  Ironically, this was the main reason why I do not want to use pictures of women with black eyes and bruises.  Domestic violence is so much more abstract, with so many facets that many people do not understand.  Showing the facets of DV is my mission…

My tutorial was on tonality and contrast, which I likewise incorporated my still life assignment.  After reading, I am a little clearer on dynamic range, luminance, luminance range and the many ways to control tonality (lighting the scene, exposure settings, and image adjustments.)  This is what I played with while photographing different subjects with varying degrees of contrast and light. I will attach a few photos.

I will leave you with a quote that I love, and is indicative of life as a Mom, student, employee, friend, lover of photography and adventure. So long for now.

Life’s journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ‘Holy shit…what a ride! ~Hunter S. Thompson

Leave a Reply

